Narnia Movies In Order: A Complete List

narnia movies in order

The Chronicles of Narnia is a series of films adapted from a series of books of the same name. The story revolves around four siblings who come across a secret door to a mystical world.

These books, like the Harry Potter series, are popular with children. Almost every child fantasizes about discovering a secret, magical place where they can escape from the stresses and competition of everyday life and live in a place where they truly belong.

Are you a fan of the Narnia Chronicles yourself? Don’t know in which order to watch? Don’t worry; here is a list of all the Narnia movies put in order of their release dates.

Narnia Movie Intro


Image source: Pinterest

The Chronicles of Narnia, penned by the legendary C.W. Lewis, consists of a total of seven books. Narnia is really a story of escape. The story of four siblings, Lucy, Edmund, Susan, and Peter Pevensie, who are caught up in a war, terrified of what is happening, and clinging to each other for love and support.

In all this chaos, the siblings come across a solution — a magical place where they can do more than be frozen in fear. In this place, they can fight battles and become heroes.

The trilogy lasts over a century, so the characters in the first and last movies are very different. There were also talks about a fourth Narnia movie being signed, but due to some issues in production, the idea could not take off, but we never know.

As the movies are not numbered, finding the right order can be a bit tricky. And if you do not watch it in the correct order, you may get confused. So to help you out, here is the right order of the three Narnia movies.

Narnia Movies In Order

1. The Chronicles Of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, And The Wardrobe


Image source: Pinterest

Release date: December 7, 2005
Run time: 143 minutes
Genre: Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Family
Director: Andrew Adamson
Rating: PG

The story is set during the Second World War. As London was being bombed, the siblings were deported to a country house to stay with Professor Digory Kirke to keep them safe.

During their stay, Lucy comes across a wardrobe that is a portal to the world of Narnia. She returns home and shows her siblings the hidden route to the magical place. Upon entering, the kids learn about the many wonders of the mystical land. They also meet Aslan, a lion who is the real ruler of Narnia. They also learn about the terrible witch — the white witch — who has plunged the place into eternal winter.

The kids join forces with Aslan and defeat the evil witch. They enjoy a long reign as kings and queens of the place and, one day, stumble upon the lamppost that takes them back to their world.

When they come home, they realize that no time has passed. This is because time moves about 25 times faster in Narnia than in the real world.

2. The Chronicles Of Narnia: Prince Caspian


Image source: Pinterest

Release date: May 15, 2008
Run time: 150 minutes
Genre: Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Family
Director: Andrew Adamson
Rating: PG

The movie’s timeline is set about a year later in the real world. But considering how fast time moves in Narnia, it is around 1300 years later. Naturally, most of the old characters are replaced by new ones in the Narnia world, except for the siblings, who were living in the real world and had only aged a year.

The land of Narnia is in distress once more — this time due to the evil King Miraz. He is more powerful and tyrannical, so the Pevensie siblings must join forces with Prince Caspian.

Prince Caspian is the new protagonist and receives much more attention than the other siblings. He is mysterious and noble and intends to save his world at all costs. He summons his siblings through Susan’s horn.

Upon arriving, the siblings find that the place is in ruins. All the Narnians are treated like slaves, and Aslan is nowhere to be found.

The tone of the movie is more adult than its prequel. There is more action, and even the visual effects are more promising and gritty. As action ensues, evil seems to be winning over good, but Lucy finds Aslan at the right time. He wakes up the River God, defeats the evil, and makes Caspian king.

The siblings return home. But they know if they were ever to travel back to Narnia, Susan and Peter will not be at the party.

3. The Chronicles Of Narnia: The Voyage Of The Dawn Treader


Image source: Pinterest

Release date: December 2, 2010
Run time: 113 minutes
Genre: Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Family
Director: Micheal Apted
Rating: PG

This is the last movie in the Narnia trilogy. While two siblings, Susan and Peter, are in the United States with their parents, the other two siblings, Lucy and Edmund, live with a relative, where they must put up with their obnoxious cousin, Eustace Scrubb.

The voyage to Narnia begins when Lucy inspects a painting on the wall and realizes it is moving. The ship in the painting is the Dawn Treader, Prince Caspian’s ship. The three occupants — Lucy, Edmund, and Eustace — are quickly swept away to Prince Caspian’s ship as the room quickly fills with water.

This time, the time gap is not much. Only three years have passed in Narnia. As for Caspian, he is searching for the seven Lords of Narnia whom his evil uncle King Miraz banished.

He wants to find the Lords so that they can use their swords to stop the mysterious green mist that is taking over men’s bodies and thoughts. The crew aboard the ship voyages to several islands in search of the Lords.

Aslan comes to their rescue and helps them recover the swords and defeat evil once again.

Similar Posts